

Serving the Episcopal Church FOUNDED 1966

P.O. Box 1012 Norwalk, CT 06856 (203) 807-5208 office@anglicanmusicians.org

Sonya Subbayya Sutton President ssutton@anglicanmusicians.org

Patrick Fennig Executive Director pfennig@anglicanmusicians.org

## 2022-2023 OFFICERS **Executive Board**

Sonya Subbayya Sutton President

> Kyle J. Ritter Vice President

Cynthia L. DeDakis Secretarv

Joseph M. Galema, D.M.A. Treasurer

> Zachary Hemenway Jessica L. Nelson Directors-at-Large

## **APPOINTMENTS**

Alan C. Reed Archivist

Jefferson C. McConnaughey, Esq. Chancellor

The Rev'd Dr. Victoria R. Sirota Chaplain

Robert W. Lehman, D.S.M. Editor, The Journal

> Colin D. Lynch Placement Advisor

**Daniel J. Fortune** Web Producer

## May 2023

To the membership of the Association of Anglican Musicians:

I have to repeat last year's message because I do not know how to say it any better: Voting matters. That is one of the many lessons to come out of these past few years. Democracy depends on you caring about the institutions and organizations around you, how their governance is formed, and who is representing you. Healthy systems are built with small decisions as much as big ideas.

AAM's greatest strength is its members, and we are fortunate to have many who are willing to serve on committees, as appointed leaders, and on the board. This year, members are voting for these open board positions:

| <u>For Secretary:</u> | <u>Director-at-Large (one-year term):</u>  |
|-----------------------|--|
| Jason Hobratschk      | Zachary Hemenway                           |
| Linda Morgan Stowe    | Gregory Deane Smith                        |
| E Transmin            | Directory of Louise (free error to error). |

eane Smith Director-at-Large (two-year term):

For Treasurer: Joseph Galema Alan Lewis

Damin Spritzer T.J. Thomas

We had the unusual circumstance last year of a candidate withdrawing after votes had been cast, and the board then, in compliance with AAM's by-laws, appointed someone to fill a one-year term as Director-at-Large. That is why we are now electing someone to complete that term, as well as someone else for the usual two-year term. More information about all of the candidates is available following this letter.

I had hoped to avoid bringing up my least favorite topic, by-laws, but here we are again. I am asking that you approve a change which I believe better reflects the reality of how we are structured and offers greater clarity for moving into the future. The current by-laws require that AAM have an Endowment Committee, which the board is proposing be renamed Development-Endowment Committee that will serve as an umbrella for four distinct aspects of our finances: 1. Fundraising Sub-Committee, a self-explanatory description for the work this committee will do to seek financial support through planned giving and annual appeals to our members, as well as grants and donations from sources outside of AAM for the grants made by the 2. Grants Sub-Committee, which oversees the Litton and Glover grants, as well as incoming applications from around the country for initiatives that live into our mission, and for the continued funding of the Hancock Internship, as managed by the 3. Internship Sub-Committee. Integral to all of this is the 4. Investment Sub-Committee, which guides the professional management of our endowment funds. The Development-Endowment Committee itself will be comprised of the chairs of these four subcommittees and, in alternating years, the Vice President or Past President.

Two other, much more fun, parts of this year's election are:

- Voting to accept a bid from a conference planning committee in Cincinnati for 2025
- Voting to approve those who have been nominated for honorary memberships. These six individuals are shining stars in our field who have given much, not only to AAM, but to this profession.

The deadline for voting online is June 1. Those who will be attending the conference in Dallas will be able to vote in person there, but why not get this done now and save time at our plenary sessions? All members who have paid their annual dues for 2023 are encouraged to vote by proxy, either electronically or by mail (if you have requested that a paper ballot be mailed to you).

AAM matters to you. Your vote matters to AAM. Thank you for participating in our tiny corner of democracy.

Sonya Subbayya Sutton President Association of Anglican Musicians